Pigeon for Yasha

During the beginning of Covid-19, I met a guy online that would turn out to become my best friend. Three years (and a few back and forth visits) later, I've moved across the world to live with him and his family.

The first Christmas we knew each other, he was living in a small apartment in the city and made a habit of feeding the pigeons that roosted outside his window. Pigeons are surprisingly smart and interesting creatures. The ones he had outside his window were all sorts of interesting piebald patterns and would wait politely each morning for their portion of seed.

After the semester was over, though, my friend knew he would be leaving that apartment and his feathered friends, so I decided to knit him one to keep him company instead. This was my first "big" knitting project in a long time, and what reignited my love for knitting in general. It's a bit rough around the edges (and I omitted the legs entirely to rush it into the mail so it would arive before the 25th), but it's a project that I have a lot of nostalgia for.

If you'd like to knit your own pigeon, you can find the pattern here for $4.70 USD.